INSTITUTIONAL BIOSAFETY COMMITTEE (IBSC)

In India, the manufacture, import, research and release of Genetically Engineered Organisms (GEOs), as well as products made by the use of such organisms are governed by The Rules for Manufacture, Use, Import, Export and Storage of Hazardous Micro-Organisms, Genetically Engineered Organisms or Cells, (commonly referred to as "Rules 1989) notified by the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEF&CC), on December 5, 1989, under the Environment (Protection) Act 1986.

The Rules 1989 are broad in scope and covers the area of research as well as large-scale handling of hazardous microorganisms, GE organisms or cells and products thereof. In order to implement the Rules in the entire country, six competent authorities and roles have been notified under the Rules 1989.

Competent Authorities under Rules 1989

Competent Authorities	Role
Recombinant DNA Advisory Committee	Advisory
(RDAC)	
Genetic Engineering Appraisal Committee	Regulatory/
(GEAC)	Approval
Review Committee on Genetic Manipulation	
(RCGM)	
Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBSC)	
State Biotechnology Coordination Committee	Monitoring
(SBCC)	Wiomtoring
District Level Committee (DLC)	

Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBSC):

This Committee shall be constituted by all institutions handling hazardous microorganisms and/or GE organisms. The Committee will be the nodal point for implementation of the biosafety guidelines and for the interactions within the institution. The Committee shall comprise of the Head of the Institution, Scientists engaged in the recombinant DNA work, a medical doctor and a nominee of the Department of Biotechnology. Institutions handling risk-inherent microorganisms or GE organisms shall prepare, with the assistance of the Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBSC), on-site emergency plan and

update from time to time according to the manuals/guidelines of the RCGM and make available copies to the District Level Committee/State Biotechnology Coordination Committee and the Genetic Engineering Appraisal Committee.

The constitution, composition, role and functions, information for compliance requirements, processes to be followed while dealing with hazardous microorganisms, GE organisms or cells and product thereof in line with Rules 1989 is described in "Guidelines and Handbook for Institutional Biosafety Committee". Adherence to the guideline shall be binding for all IBSCs.

Composition of the IBSC at ICAR-CMFRI

Dr.P.Vijayagopal	Chairperson
Head, Marine Biotechnology Division,	_
CMFRI	
Dr.Krupesha Sharma S.R., Principal	Member Secretary
Scientist, Marine Biotechnology	
Division, CMFRI	
Dr.G.K.Sivaraman, Principal Scientist,	DBT Nominee
CIFT	
	External Expert
Scientist, NBFGR, Kochi	
Dr. Nijo Joseph, Kothamangalam,	Biosafety Officer/ Medical Expert
Kerala	
Dr.Jena, N.S, Scientist, Marine	Internal Expert
Biotechnology Division, CMFRI	
Dr.Sumithra T.G., Scientist, Marine	Internal Expert
Biotechnology Division, CMFRI	
Dr.Sandhya Sukumaran, Senior	Internal Expert
Scientist, Marine Biotechnology	
Division, CMFRI	
Dr.Pradeep M.A., Scientist, Marine	Internal Expert
Biotechnology Division, CMFRI	